Subscribe to get tough, fair journalism seven days a week.
Subscribe today

No alarm, no surprises in municipal election

file photo

Residents will have one new face – and a whole host of familiar ones – representing them on the Keizer City Council after November’s election.

Presuming there’s no massive write-in campaign, all the incumbents who sought re-election will continue on the council.

Joe Egli, president of the Keizer Chamber of Commerce, was the only candidate to file for Position No. 5, currently held by Councilor Richard Walsh. Walsh opted not to run for re-election this year.

Mayor Lore Christopher was the only candidate to file for mayor. She is finishing her fifth term in office. Councilor Cathy Clark is unopposed for her second bid at Position No. 4, and Jim Taylor faces no opposition in his bid for a third term on council in Position No. 6.

Council terms are for four years, while mayoral terms are for two. Councilors David McKane, Brandon Smith and Mark Caillier are not up for re-election this year.